New Release and Review: On The Corner Of Love And Hate by Nina Bocci – Hopeless Romantics Series – Book 1

42587433

On The Corner Of Love And Hate

Hopeless Romantics Series – Book 1

By Nina Bocci

Release Date: August 20, 2019

Buy: Amazon

images

Blurb:

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

OTC good enough

3 Star

Michel’s Review

The Corner Of Love And Hate by Nina Bocci intrigued me. I love an enemies to lovers type of romance and was craving a bit more mature adult kind of relationship.

While the first trope was clearly present in this novel, the mature adult behavior kind of slipped through the cracks. I felt like the hero, Cooper, was a bit immature for a man clearly in his thirties. Not only did Cooper come across as immature but also came across as a slacker. It turned me off right away and while he had significant character growth, he never captured my heart. If I can’t fall in love with the hero then I find myself annoyed with the heroine for falling for him.

Emmanuelle had her own issues and I completely understood her frustration and resentment towards Cooper. It was completely validated. Rather than expressing herself in a positive, direct manner to Cooper she lets her issues fester.

When the two finally started to really communicate and express their real desires it was hard to get on board with their romantic relationship. The animosity, push and pull that I love in enemies to lovers romance lost some of it’s oompff because of the characters personalities. I never felt the chemistry between them. It was more of a slow building romance rather than a intense burn.

Honestly this book has potential and I think this will appeal to readers who like more of a generic type of romance. Although this book didn’t quite capture my personal taste I think other readers will really like it. The writing is well executed and flows well. I am looking forward to see what comes next in The Hopeless Romantics Series.

 

 

__________________________________

Author Bio

14164319Nina Bocci is a novelist, publicist, eternal optimist, unabashed lipgloss enthusiast, constant apologist, and a hopeless romanticist. She has too many college degrees that she’s not using, and a Lego addiction that she blames on her son.

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter  ~ Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.