New Release + Blog Tour + Excerpt: Something Just Like This by Jennifer Probst

We are celebrating the new release from Jennifer Probst by participating in the blog tour. SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS is part of her Stay series and it is releasing as part of 1001 Dark Nights. It just went live today! Check out an excerpt and book trailer from the title below. Click here to grab your copy now.

 

Purchase your copy of SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS today!

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

About SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS:

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Probst comes a new story in her Stay series.

Jonathan Lake is the beloved NYC mayor who’s making a run for Governor. His widowed status and close relationship with his daughter casts him as the darling of the press, and the candidate to beat, but behind the flash of the cameras, things are spinning out of control. It all has to do with his strait laced, ruthlessly organized assistant. Her skills and reserved demeanor are perfect to run his campaign, but her brilliant brain has become a temptation he’s been fighting for too long. Can he convince her to take a chance on a long-term campaign for love or will his efforts end up in scandal?

Alyssa Block has admired the NYC mayor for a long time, but her secret crush is kept ruthlessly buried under a mountain of work. Besides, she’s not his type, and office scandals is not in her job position. But when they retreat to an upstate horse farm for a secluded weekend, the spark between them catches flame, and Jonathan sets those stinging blue-eyes on winning her. Can she convince him to focus on the upcoming election, or will she succumb to the sweet promise of a different future?

**For fans of Jennifer Probst’s Stay series, Something Just Like This is book four in that series.**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you’ll enjoy each one as much as we do.**

 

Add SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS to your Goodreads TBR here!

Purchase your copy of SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS today!

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

 

 

EXCERPT:

Her chin tilted up, and she gave him a cutting glare over the frame of her glasses. Excuse me if Im suspicious regarding your sudden interest in me. Are you concerned I wont stick with you when you move on to governor? Are you experiencing guilt that you dont know your team well enough to count on their loyalty? Forgive me if I dont feel like being your first experiment in the heart-to-heart sharing segment. We should move on now.

His head spun. Oh, hed pegged this all wrong. Hed wanted to give her space, but now she believed his interest in her was only to strengthen their bond from a work standpoint. Apparently, she had no clue his motivations were strictly personal. That he wanted to get to know her as a womannot his assistant. He shouldnt have used the term employee.

He hesitated, not sure how much to give her before she spooked. Alyssa, Im sorry if that came out wrong. My questions had nothing to do with work, or the election, or making you feel happier in your job. I simply want to know you better.

She stared at him, and the air grew thick between them. Why?

Her direct question deserved a candid answer. Because I really like you. More than you know.

He wanted to duck his head like a schoolboy to avoid her reaction, but he forced himself to hold her gaze and take the hit. Her pupils dilated, and a flush crept up her neck, flooding her cheeks. He wasnt surprised at the slight shock as she retreatedhed been expecting it. No, he dreaded the distaste or embarrassment or panic that might occur, and he swore to back off if he caught any of it.

Instead, he watched the blush deepen, and her lips part, and the slam of a fierce hunger glint from behind those glasses. Her fingers trembled slightly as she reached for her wine and took a long swig, past caring about delicacy.

Thats when he realized she wanted him, too.

His heart slammed hard and fast like a contractor with a jackhammer. The rush of relief was paired with the knowledge that she might turn away from him anyway. Hell, she was probably smart to get up, leave his place, and slam the door behind her, choosing to ignore his comment.

She set the glass down and dared to look at him. I see.

 

 


AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst

Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean.

She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon’s Best Books for 2012, and spent 26 weeks on the New York Times. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries, sold over a million copies, and was dubbed a “romance phenom” by Kirkus Reviews.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

New Release + Release Blitz + Excerpt: Something Just Like This by Jennifer Probst

We are beyond excited to be sharing this release from Jennifer Probst with you today! SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS is part of her Stay series and it is releasing as part of 1001 Dark Nights. It just went live today! Check out an excerpt and book trailer from the title below. Click here to grab your copy now.

 

Purchase your copy of SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS today!

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

About SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS:

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Probst comes a new story in her Stay series.

Jonathan Lake is the beloved NYC mayor who’s making a run for Governor. His widowed status and close relationship with his daughter casts him as the darling of the press, and the candidate to beat, but behind the flash of the cameras, things are spinning out of control. It all has to do with his strait laced, ruthlessly organized assistant. Her skills and reserved demeanor are perfect to run his campaign, but her brilliant brain has become a temptation he’s been fighting for too long. Can he convince her to take a chance on a long-term campaign for love or will his efforts end up in scandal?

Alyssa Block has admired the NYC mayor for a long time, but her secret crush is kept ruthlessly buried under a mountain of work. Besides, she’s not his type, and office scandals is not in her job position. But when they retreat to an upstate horse farm for a secluded weekend, the spark between them catches flame, and Jonathan sets those stinging blue-eyes on winning her. Can she convince him to focus on the upcoming election, or will she succumb to the sweet promise of a different future?

**For fans of Jennifer Probst’s Stay series, Something Just Like This is book four in that series.**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you’ll enjoy each one as much as we do.**

 

Add SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS to your Goodreads TBR here!

Purchase your copy of SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS today!

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

Excerpt:

“Did you have any siblings?” he asked.

She shook her head. “Just me and endless aunts and uncles of the theater.”

“When did you finally get to pursue your own dream of college?”

“I left them when I was nineteen. Took my GED, applied to the local community college, and got a job working as a secretary. I taught myself to type and did the bills at home and for the current theater project they were involved in, so I had some skills. The rest was easy.”

She sipped at the wine, taking her time with the balance and flavor as she let it settle over her tongue and slip down her throat. He shifted in the chair, the heat suddenly strangling him. She was so damn sexy and had no clue. It made it so much harder not to touch her.

“How easy?” he asked.

“I got As, scored a scholarship to Cornell, then came to the city for a more interesting career.”

“Do you see your parents often?”

He wondered when she’d stop answering his questions. He was greedy for anything she’d share, but for now, she seemed open to talking. “No, but we chat on the phone, and when they came here last year for an off-off-Broadway play, they stayed with me for a week. We’re happier when we’re apart. Our personalities just never matched, but we love each other. We’re family.”

Her simple acceptance of her life humbled him. He knew she was no whiner, but it was more than that. She seemed to know who she was to the core and made no apologies—even to her parents. That type of strength and feminine confidence pulled at him. The man she took into her inner circle would be the luckiest bastard on Earth.

God, he wanted it to be him.

“Thank you for telling me,” he finally said, content to let what she gave him be enough. “I guess I realized we spend all this time together, but I knew nothing about your personal life.” Had he seemed greedy for information? Maybe it was better to ease off in case she was uncomfortable? “It’s nice to learn more about your important employees.”

She stiffened, and the wall slammed back up. “Our work relationship doesn’t warrant personal,” she said coolly. “And I don’t need to be another of your charities, Mr. Mayor. The way things have been between us has been just fine.”

He blinked, caught off guard. “Wait, what did I say wrong? And you know it pisses me off when you don’t use my name.”

 


AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst

Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean.

She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon’s Best Books for 2012, and spent 26 weeks on the New York Times. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries, sold over a million copies, and was dubbed a “romance phenom” by Kirkus Reviews.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter