New Release + 5 Star Review: The One Real Thing by Samantha Young – Hart’s Boardwalk Series – Book 1


The One Real Thing

The Hart’s Boardwalk Series – Book 1

By Samantha Young

Release Date: September 6, 2016


Amazon          Barnes and Noble        iBooks             BAM             

Welcome to Hartwell, a quiet seaside escape where uncovering old secrets could lead one woman to discover the meaning of a love that lasts…

While Doctor Jessica Huntington engages with the inmates at the women’s correctional facility where she works, she’s always careful to avoid emotional attachments in her personal life. Loss and betrayal taught her that lesson long ago. But when she comes across a set of old love letters in the prison’s library and visits the picturesque town of Hartwell to deliver them to their intended recipient, she finds herself unable to resist the town’s charm—and her attraction to the sexy owner of a local bar proves equally hard to deny.

Since his divorce from his unfaithful ex-wife, Cooper Lawson has focused on what really matters: his family and the boardwalk pub they’ve owned for generations. But the first time Jessica steps into his bar, Cooper is beyond tempted to risk his heart on her.

Yet as their attraction grows hotter and Jessica remains stubbornly closed off, he begins to realize it will take more than just passion to convince her there’s only one real thing in life worth fighting for…

Amazon          Barnes and Noble        iBooks             BAM              Kobo



Michel’s Review

Samantha Young has a great start in her new Hart’s Boardwalk Series with The One Real Thing.  It’s a compelling small town series with unique characters from all walks of life.  They are either natives to Hartwell, Delaware or transplants drawn to this small peaceful seaside community.  Life in Hartwell revolves around the boardwalk.

Dr. Jessica Huntington didn’t know she was stuck in her own life.  As the head doctor of the Women’s Correctional and Rehabilitation Facilty, she’s seen everything.  She chose this job over more prestigious jobs because she wanted to be a real doctor and help those in need with compassion, integrity, and equality.  Her personal life is void.  She has a friends with benefits relationship with a busy prestigious surgeon.  Their relationship is anything but a real relationship.  Their encounters are scheduled.  There are no surprises.  Jessica likes it that way.  She doesn’t want the commitment and involvement that comes with a true relationship.

When Jessica finds three letters in the binder of a discarded prison library book, it is a life changing event.  These three letters date back to 1972.  They are from an inmate that died shortly after the letters were written.  The content of these letters is compelling.  Jessica was touched by the heartfelt sincerity in those written words.  A woman’s quest for forgiveness and declaration of love.  Jessica knows she must find the recipient of these undelivered letters.

Jessica’s quest to deliver the letters leads her to Hart’s Boardwalk and Cooper Lawson in Hartwell, Delaware.  One spontaneous moment in the rain leads her to finding everything she was missing in life.  Staying at the local inn introduces her to real heart of the town.

A three week vacation changes her life.  She will confront her own past and insecurities.
She will make the choice to become more than a doctor, she will become a part of a community that involves being in real relationships.  She will become a confidant, friend, and lover.  She will set new goals in her life and still be the kind of doctor she intended to be.  Most of all she will learn to love herself.

Cooper Lawson has lived in Hartwell all his life.  He has recently went through a very nasty divorce that cost him more than his marriage.  He’s bitter but moving on.  In the past six months he has become the town player.  He’s not interested in becoming involved again, he just wants to run his bar.  When he meets Dr. Jessica Huntington the tables turn.  He has finally met a woman that touches his soul.  A woman that he can respect.  A woman he can build a life with.  The only problem is that she lives in Wilmington.  Can he convince her that Hartwell needs her as much as he does?

Samantha Young wrote an emotional and compelling story that deals with all kinds of relationships.  People from all walks of life coming together to make a real home and community.  The best part was Cooper and Jessica finding each other. A mature romance dealing with real life.  I can’t wait for the next walk on Hart’s Boardwalk.


Coming Soon……


Every Little Thing

The Hart’s Boardwalk Series

By Samantha Young

Release Date: March 2017


Hartwell, Delaware—the perfect place to get away from it all, and find what you never knew you needed…
Bailey Hartwell has many reasons to feel content—her successful business, a close circle of friends, and her steady boyfriend…even if their romance feels staid after ten years without a serious commitment. The only challenge in her life comes in the form of sexy businessman Vaughn Tremaine. She thinks the ex-New Yorker acts superior and that he considers her a small-town nobody. But when Bailey’s blindsided by a betrayal, she’s shocked to discover Vaughn is actually a decent guy.

Vaughn admires Bailey’s free spirit, independence, and loyalty. As his passion for her has grown, his antagonism toward her has only worsened. Every little thing Bailey does seduces him. But when Vaughn’s painful emotional past makes him walk away in fear he will hurt her, it opens an old wound in Bailey, and she uncharacteristically retreats.

Once Vaughn begins to realize he’s made the biggest mistake of his life, he has no choice but to fight like he’s never fought before to convince Bailey that the love they’ve found together only comes around once in a lifetime.


We can’t wait for Bailey and Vaughn’s story! But in the meantime, we’re looking forward to the first book, The One Real Thing, that goes on sale September 6th! Pre-order the first book in the Hart’s Boardwalk series today!



About the author:

4167378 Samantha Young is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the On Dublin Street series, including Moonlight on Nightingale WayEchoes of Scotland Street, and Fall from India Place, as well as the standalone novel Hero. She resides in Scotland.

Website           Facebook         Twitter                        Instagram